Skip To Main

Congresswoman Yvette D. Clarke’s Statement on the 40th Anniversary of the Congressional Black Caucus

Washington, DC – Congresswoman Yvette D. Clarke released the following statement following the reception celebrating the 40th Anniversary of the Congressional Black Caucus (CBC) on Capitol Hill:

“It is such an honor to be a member of the CBC and recognize its deep rooted history in American politics.  I am so grateful to be a part of such a wonderful legacy— a legacy that acknowledges the need for diversity in American leadership today.”


“It was the founding members of the Congressional Black Caucus, which included the honorable Shirley Chisholm, William L. Clay, George W. Collins, John Conyers, Ronald Dellums, Charles Diggs, Augustus F. Hawkins, Ralph Metcalfe, Parren Mitchell, Robert Nix, Charles B. Rangel, Louis Stokes, and Washington D.C. delegate Walter Fauntroy,  who laid the foundation of 40 years of historical progress in America.  It is the spirit of these pioneers that drives the CBC today.  Never would I have imagined that I would end up walking down the same path as some of these courageous and dynamic individuals.”

“Celebrating this milestone strengthens our desire to ensure that all Americans, regardless of race, color, or creed have the chance to pursue and achieve the American dream.  Know that as a member of the CBC, our top priority is the recovery of the American work force.  As we reflect on the CBC’s 40 years of service, we renew our commitment to upholding the great legacy that it has built over the years.  ”