Skip To Main



March 18, 2024



c: 202.913.0126

Washington, D.C. — Congresswoman Yvette D. Clarke (NY-09) along with Haiti Caucus Co-Chairs Ayanna Pressley (MA-07) and Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick (FL-20), led a group of 67 lawmakers in urging the Department of Homeland Security Secretary and Department of State to immediately redesignate Temporary Protected Status (TPS) for Haiti, which would authorize Haitian nationals in the United States to remain in the country until conditions improve in Haiti. The lawmakers also call on the Biden administration to pause all deportation flights to Haiti until conditions improve.

Armed gangs control most of Haiti’s territory, including the capital city of Port-au-Prince, exposing those in Haiti to human rights abuses such as killings, kidnappings, and sexual violence. Since Prime Minister Ariel Henry has announced his resignation after facing immense public pressure, the country will continue to experience instability exacerbated by armed gangs, as an interim leader facilitates elections. 

In the letter, the lawmakers wrote, “Both of these steps are necessary to ensure that the United States does not return Haitian nationals to a government incapable of protecting its citizens — often subjecting them to repression and violence — and gangs that brutally victimize residents and operate without restrictions. Because of the quickly worsening gang violence in Haiti, the uncertain political future following Prime Minister Henry’s resignation announcement, the lack of accountability for human rights violations, and the current government’s abuses, we urge you to extend and redesignate TPS for Haiti and use your discretion to halt deportation flights to the country. These actions will prevent further suffering and unnecessary loss of life.”

Cosigners in the House include Representatives Alma Adams, Troy Carter, Sydney Kamlager-Dove, Nydia Velazquez, Rashida Tlaib, Delia Ramirez, Maxine Waters, Donald Payne Jr., Frederica Wilson, Pramila Jayapal, Eleanor Holmes Norton, Robert Garcia, Debbie Wasserman Schultz, Jan Schakowsky, Barbara Lee, Maxwell Alejandro Frost, Jesus “Chuy” Garcia, Cori Bush, Lois Frankel, David Trone, James P. McGovern, Nikema Williams, Adriano Espaillat, Lauren Underwood, Dina Titus, Darren Soto, Seth Moulton, Grace Meng, Gabe Amo, Marc Veasey, William R. Keating, Dan Goldman, Donald Beyer, Ro Khanna, Jamaal Bowman, Tony Cardenas, Veronica Escobar, Greg Casar, Bennie Thompson, Andy Kim, Juan Vargas, Debbie Dingell, Marcy Kaptur, and Sheila Jackson Lee.

Cosigners in the Senate include Senators Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Laphonza Butler (D-Calif.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawai’i), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Alex Padilla (D-Calif.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Mark Warner (D-Va.), Reverend Raphael Warnock (D-Ga.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Peter Welch (D-Vt.), and Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.).

  • On March 12, 2024, Rep. Clarke and the Haiti Caucus issued a statement on the resignation of Haitian Prime Minister Ariel Henry.
  • In early March 2024, Rep. Clarke and the Haiti Caucus called for a Multinational Security Support Mission and humanitarian assistance to help restore security for the Haitian people.
  • In August 2023, Rep. Clarke urged a Texas federal judge to preserve the humanitarian parole program responsible for saving the lives of countless migrant families from Haiti and other distressed nations.
  • Rep. Clarke has consistently called on the Department of Homeland Security to end the practice of expelling migrants under Title 42 and to employ alternative forms of humanitarian relief for detainees subject to deportation for the remainder of the pandemic. 
  • In September 2022, Rep. Clarke and Rep. Ritchie Torres (NY-15) introduced a resolution calling for the acknowledgement of Haiti as the first free Black nation in the Americas, and how its longstanding “double debt” continues to damage the freedom and prosperity of the nation.
  • In January 2022, Clarke led a letter to U.S. Department of State Secretary Antony Blinken urging the Biden-Administration to take additional steps to mobilize international support for the Haitian people as they work to rebuild from years of natural disasters, economic hardship, and political turmoil.
  • In January 2022, Caucus Co-Chairs Clarke, Demings, Levin, and Pressley released a statement following the 12 year anniversary of the catastrophic 7.0 magnitude earthquake that struck Haiti and devastated its civilian population.
  • In Octorober 2021, Rep. Clarke and Haiti Caucus Co-Chairs Reps. Val Demings (FL-10), Ayanna Pressley (MA-07), and Andy Levin (MI-09) issued a statement following the kidnapping of American and Canadian missionaries in Haiti.
  • In July 2021, Rep. Clarke, along with Reps. Ayanna Pressley (MA-07), Andy Levin (MI-09) and Val Demings (FL-10) issued a statement condemning the assassination of Haitian President Jovenel Moïse and calling for an independent investigation into the criminal act.
  • In May 2021, on Haitian Flag Day, Reps. Clarke, Pressley, Levin, and Demings announced the formation of the House Haiti Caucus, a Congressional caucus dedicated to pursuing a just foreign policy that puts the needs and aspirations of the Haitian people first.

Read the full letter here.