Skip To Main

U.S. Rep. Yvette D. Clarke Statement on the House Democratic ‘Super Commission’ Assignments

Today, Congresswoman Yvette D. Clarke released the following statement on House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi assigning U.S. Reps. James Clyburn, Xavier Becerra and Chris Van Hollen on the Debt “Super Commission”:

“I applaud Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi for choosing Assistant Democratic Leader James E. Clyburn, Democratic Caucus Vice Chair Xavier Becerra and Budget Committee Ranking Member Chris Van Hollen for the debt ‘Super Commission.’  I am confident that these three gentlemen will continue to put the best interests of the American people first.  They bring a wealth of knowledge and diverse perspective that will be indispensible to the Commission.  I will continue to work with the commission to fight to preserve and strengthen our key social safety net programs such as Medicare, Medicaid, and Social Security.”