Skip To Main

Rep. Clarke Co-Sponsors the Oil Spill Responsibility Act of 2010

Yesterday, Representative Yvette D. Clarke (D-NY) joined Representative Steve Kagen (D-WI) as an original cosponsor of H.R.5520, ‘‘the Oil Spill Responsibility Act of 2010,’’ which directs British Petroleum (BP) to set aside $25 billion to pay for costs related to the Deepwater Horizon oil spill disaster in the Gulf of Mexico. Rep. Clarke released the following statement:

“As demonstrated by BP President Lamar McKay’s testimony before Congress, the responsibility in what has become the most appalling environmental debacle since the Exxon Valdez disaster rests on the shoulders of British Petroleum, and therefore the financial burden is theirs as well.

“In what is already a difficult financial time for those whose livelihoods have been jeopardized by this tragedy, these funds will help to mitigate the harm done to the economy and the environment in the Gulf.

“I will continue to fight for justice for the victims of this unfortunate situation. Following the leadership of President Obama, my Democratic colleagues and I intend to study and propose measures to ensure that a tragedy of this kind doesn’t happen again. The best way to get this done is for us to devise plans for a clean energy future. We need to reduce the consumption of fossil fuels and incentivize the creation of a greener, less oil dependent economy.”