Skip To Main

Rep. Clarke Co-Sponsors H. Res. 893 Congratulating the 2009 Major League Baseball World Series Champions, the New York Yankees

Washington D.C. – Rep. Yvette D. Clarke, along with the New York City Congressional Delegation, co-sponsored a resolution recognizing and congratulating the New York Yankees on their 27th World Series Championship win, the most wins of any major league sports franchise. Rep. Clarke released the following statement:


As a life long New Yorker, I am proud to stand with the New York City Congressional Delegation and congratulate the “Bronx Bombers,” also known as the New York Yankees on winning their record 27th World Championship.  Amazingly, the Yankees have won more championships than any other franchise in North American professional sports history. This would not be a reality without the contributions of some of baseball’s greatest players.


Historic players like Babe Ruth, Joe DiMaggio, Mickey Mantle, Lou Gehrig, Yogi Berra, Elston Howard, Roger Maris, Reggie Jackson, Don Mattingly, Bernie Williams, Willie Randolph, Paul O’Neill, David Cone, Mariano Rivera, Coach Joe Girardi, Alex Rodriguez, Andy Pettitte and my all time favorite, Derek Jeter, have all contributed to the fame and legacy of this historic franchise.  Throughout my entire life, the Yankees have not only been a symbol of great baseball, but they have epitomized the vibrant spirit, the unyielding hope and the strength of the great City of New York. Like the Yankees, New York City’s history has been through much adversity and challenge. But through it all, we have triumphed and eventually succeeded. 


Again, I congratulate the New York Yankees for this monumental achievement.