Skip To Main

Congresswoman Clarke’s Statement on Diwali Forever Stamp Unveiling

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Congresswoman Yvette D. Clarke released the following statement on the unveiling of the Diwali Forever Stamp:

“I want to congratulate the people of India, Guyana, Trinidad and Tobago, and people of Indian descent living around the world who celebrate the festival of lights, Diwali, on the dedication of a Forever Stamp by the United States Post Office (USPS) to commemorate this highly esteemed holiday.

“As millions of people prepare to enjoy Diwali this October, honoring the triumph of good over evil, this stamp will reflect not only the importance of the holiday, but also the Indian American community's many positive contributions to our civil society. I would also like to take this opportunity to commend the leadership of the community here in New York who have been integral to The Diwali Stamp Project, individuals such as Ranju Batra and Ravi Batra along with other leaders in the Indian American community, who worked tirelessly to build a coalition in support of this initiative.

“I would also like to commend my esteemed colleague, Congresswoman Carolyn B. Maloney, who urged the Citizens Stamp Advisory Committee (CSAC) to consider issuing a commemorative Diwali stamp and introduced a resolution in the House of Representatives calling for the CSAC to issue the Diwali stamp. Through the success of her efforts in partnership with the USPS and our collective good will, let us all celebrate with the Indian American community and all of our diverse communities of New York City and our nation, Diwali – the festival of lights! Saal Mubarak!”

Congresswoman Yvette D. Clarke, a member of the Committee on Energy and Commerce, the Subcommittee on Commerce, Manufacturing, and Trade, the Subcommittee on Communications and Technology, and the Subcommittee on Oversight and Investigations, the Committee on Ethics and the Committee on Small Business in the House of Representatives, proudly represents Brownsville, Crown Heights, East Flatbush, Flatbush, Gerritsen Beach, Madison, Midwood, Park Slope, Flatlands, Prospect Heights, Prospect-Lefferts Gardens, Sheepshead Bay, and Windsor Terrace.